Jun 052016

Pre-season training for the 2016 Colts and Division 1 seasons will commence on Saturday, June 11.

Training will be held at Craik Park, Eleventh Avenue, Austral and will commence at 1.00pm.

Dec 192015

The 2015 season has come to a close and the Pirates can be proud of their efforts in both the Colts and Division 1 competitions.

Thank you to everyone who participated as either a player, coach or support staff, but a special thanks to those who supported the Club throughout the year by giving up their husband, their boyfriend, their son or their dad to allow them to be a part of the team.

May you all have a very Merry Christmas and a safe and healthy 2016.

Sep 222014

Congratulations to former player and committee member, Aaron Goth and his wife Lauren, on the birth of their first child today.

The baby boy, named Jordan Andrew Goth, was born at 4.17pm this afternoon and weighed in at 3.59kgs. Mother and baby are both fine and resting.

Our congratulations and best wishes go to the entire Goth family.

Aug 182014

The West Sydney Gridiron Club held their annual Presentation Luncheon yesterday with awards presented for the 2013 Pirates and 2014 Trojans teams.





Award winners were –

2013 Pirates’ Rookie of the Year – Peter Hoang
2014 Trojans’ Rookie of the Year – Jason Ielua

2013 Pirates’ Most Improved Player – Justice Kantanka
2014 Trojans’ Most improved Player – Jaidyn Williams

2013 Pirates’ Lineman of the Year – Shannon Lynch
2014 Trojans’ Lineman of the Year – Mark Ielua

2013 Pirates’ Players’ Player – Ash Best
2014 Trojans’ Players’ Player – Myles Jones

2013 Pirates’ Pirates – Greg Evers
2014 Trojans’ Trojans – Sherree McDonough

2013 Pirates’ MVP Offense – Marlou Tacugue
2014 Trojans’ MVP Offense – Kris Gacuma

2013 Pirates’ MVP Defense – Shannon Lynch
2014 Trojans’ MVP Defense – Jarrad Clarke

2013 Pirates’ Overall MVP – Marlou Tacugue
2014 Trojans’ Overall MVP – Jarrad Clarke

We congratulate the winners on their outstanding achievements.

Additionally, on the same day the Pirates’ 2014 Team Captains were announced. They are…

On Offense –
Quarterback – David Ward
Receiver – Greg Evers
Running Back – Marlou Tacugue

On Defense –
Lineman – Shannon Lynch
Defensive Back – Chris Snagg
Defensive Back – Glenn Beardmore

We congratulate these players on their selection and we look forward to a great 2014 season!

Jun 272014

Congratulations to Pirate player, Greg Evers and his wife Jess, on the birth of their fourth child today.

The baby girl, named Quilla Dawn, is the couple’s third daughter and she was born at 4.28pm this afternoon and weighed in at 5.24kgs. Mother and baby are both fine and resting.

Our congratulations and best wishes go to the entire Evers family.

Apr 172014

West Sydney Gridiron now has their own Smartphone App. It’ll keep you
up-to-date with the Club’s news, events, sponsors and much more.

To get the full features of your teams App you need to download Team App
onto your smartphone.

Download Team App here (http://teamapp.com/app). Its 100% FREE.

Launch Team App and search for West Sydney Gridiron.
1. Sign-up to Team App. You’ll be sent an email to confirm your
2. Search for your club’s App and request access to group(s) that apply to

It’s that simple!

Aug 242013

The West Sydney Gridiron Club held its annual luncheon to honour the outstanding achievements of the past seasons. Members of the 2012 Pirates and 2013 Trojans were on hand to celebrate and recognise the individual winners.
The first major award of the day was presented to David Ward in recognition of his outstanding international career. David became the most capped player in Australian Gridiron history when he played for the Australian Outback against the Polynesian All-Star team earlier this year.
Awards were then presented to both the Pirates and Trojans in a number of categories with the main awards – Team Most Valuable Player being won by –
Shannon Lynch – 2012 Pirates and Jarrad Clarke – 2013 Trojans
To see a complete rundown of all the Award Winners, go to our History page from the links above.
Our congratulations and thanks go to all the Award Winners for their outstanding contributions to the Club.